Board of Directors

The Alliance is governed by an independent board of directors. Board members provide critical strategic guidance to the organization and represent a wide range of interests and expertise from around the Great Lakes region.

New board members are nominated every year. Directors are limited to two consecutive terms, but can serve again after a lapse of at least one year.

Executive Committee

Jo-Elle Mogerman, Chair
St. Louis Zoo

Vanessa Tey Iosue, Vice Chair – Policy
Burges & Burges Strategists

Laura Payne, Vice Chair – Development
Builders Vision

Susan McDermott, Treasurer

Bill Henry, Secretary
Amensal Systems

Thomas Langmyer, Chair – Nominations
Great Lakes Media Corp

Joel Brammeier, President & CEO
Alliance for the Great Lakes


Nicole Chavas
Greenprint Partners

Tim Frick

David Hackett
Baker McKenzie LLP

Quentin James
The Collective PAC

Katherine Jones
Aquarium of Niagara

Daniel Guzman King
Oneida Nation

Kimberly Hill Knott
Future Insight Consulting, LLC

Candace Jeffers LaRochelle
Neighborhood Family Practice

Dr. Wren Montgomery
Western University, Ontario

Dr. Alan Steinman
Grand Valley State University

Dr. Sri Vedachalam
Environmental Consulting & Technology, Inc.

Christopher Winters
Discovery World Science and Technology Center


Paul Culhane

James Griffith