Joint press release from Alliance for the Great Lakes • Environmental Defence Canada • Environmental Defense Fund Freshwater Future • Michigan League of Conservation Voters • National Wildlife Federation Ohio Environmental Council

(Friday, June 12, 2015) Quebec City, QC – Today, the Governors of Ohio and Michigan and the Premier of Ontario announced a significant commitment to restore Lake Erie by putting an end to harmful algal blooms like the one last summer that left nearly 500,000 Toledo-area resident without safe drinking water. We applaud their commitment to reduce the amount of nutrient pollution, specifically phosphorous, flowing into western Lake Erie by 40 percent – and we look forward to working with U.S. and Canadian public officials to take action to meet that goal.

 

The commitment is an important step forward in keeping Lake Erie free of harmful algal blooms and, in turn, protecting our region’s economy, drinking water and way of life. The science is clear: dissolved phosphorus from agricultural runoff is driving the resurgence of harmful algal blooms. Today’s commitment is another positive step toward restoring Lake Erie. We look forward to hearing additional details and working with the states and provinces to implement the agreement.

For more information contact:

Alliance for the Great Lakes – Jennifer Caddick, (312) 445-9760, jcaddick@greatlakes.org Environmental Defence Canada – Jen Mayville: jmayville@environmentaldefence.ca, (905) 330-0172 Environmental Defense Fund – Karen Chapman: kchapman@edf.org, (740) 990-0704
Freshwater Future – Jill Ryan: jill@freshwaterfuture.org, (231) 348-8200
Michigan League of Conservation Voters – Katie Sulau: katie@michiganlcv.org, (734) 222-9650 National Wildlife Federation – Jordan Lubetkin: lubetkin@nwf.org, (734) 887-7109
Ohio Environmental Council – Adam Rissien: arissien@theoec.org, (614) 487-5832

Download Press Release: Groups applaud commitment to healthy Lake Erie free from harmful algal blooms